Power Of The Purse


The seventh annual Power of the Purse Luncheon and Purse Auction will be held on April 22, 2016 at the Amarillo Civic Center Heritage Ballroom. The beneficiary of the event is the Laura W. Bush Institute for Women's Health.



Chanel ~ $25,000

Maxor National Pharmacy Services Corp.

Valentino ~ $20,000

Laurie and Bill McWeeney

Louis Vuitton ~ $10,000

Amarillo National Bank
Josephine Anderson Charitable Trust
Dr. Kent Roberts and Ilene Roberts Balliett Foundation
Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center
School of Medicine | Amarillo

Prada ~ $5,000

Kathy Brown and Kelly Roberts
Pat Chandler
Genevieve Caldwell
The Waite and Genevieve Phillips Foundation
Dr. J. Avery Rush, MD and Dana Cavazos-Rush
The Secret Place

Tory Burch ~ $2,500

Amarillo Oral and Maxillary Surgery
Baptist St. Anthony’s Health System
Budweiser Distributing Company
Cardiology Center
First Bank Southwest
Happy State Bank
Street Toyota
Texas Oncology
Nancy and Perry Williams

Coach ~ $1,500

Amarillo Area Foundation
Amarillo Independent School District
Amarillo Vision Specialists
Wesley J. Anderson, OD, PC
Joyce and William H. Attebury
Bell Helicopter Textron, Inc.
C&B Properties
Cindy and Al Cunningham
Mary Kay Dammier
Shirley and Ed Fancher
First United Bank
Anita and William Hamker
InfantRisk Center
Nancy and Bob Josserand
PAC Production Company
Plains Capital Bank
Gene and Louise Rahll Foundation
Gaynelle and Don Riffe
Sally and John Skaggs
Cindy and Michael Terk
Toot ‘n Totum
TTUHSC Communications and Marketing
TTUHSC School of Medicine | Amarillo
Upshaw Insurance
Wells Fargo Bank, NA
Xcel Energy


2016 Keynote Speaker: Taya Kyle

Taya Kyle is the wife of the late U.S. Navy SEAL sniper Chris Kyle and the author of the New York Times bestselling book, American Wife. Taya is a bold advocate for women and families and a passionate voice for faith, strength and American ideals.
Following the tragic death of her husband Chris Kyle - author of the New York Times bestselling book and Academy Award-winning motion picture, American Sniper – Taya has served as Executive Director of the Chris Kyle Frog Foundation. The Foundation continues Chris Kyle’s legacy while serving the needs of military and first responder families.
Taya Kyle recounts her personal experiences as the wife of an American hero in her book, American Wife. Highs, lows, grief and joy – she honestly shares the trials and triumphs of life with and without Chris Kyle, and ultimately finding her place in the midst of the journey.
Taya is a frequent speaker for various organizations. She is a proud mother and resides in Texas with her family.
And descriptions of her speech topics in case any of this verbiage is helpful to you:
Taya Kyle shares her families' powerful story of love, war, faith and renewal. The theme resonates with more than just service members and patriots. Taya believes every person alive seeks love and faith in something. Every person struggles and fights some sort of battle. Ultimately, we are looking for renewal. Taya’s story is about withstanding and persevering even when life brings uncommon and unforeseen circumstances to our door.
Utilizing the "Pay it Forward" idea, Taya Kyle believes the Ripple Effect is a powerful thing. One small act of kindness can mean the world to another individual. It can also start a movement, spreading hope from one person to a whole nation.
Recounting the Kyle families' personal experiences, Mrs. Kyle shares the power and impact of taking one step in faith.

2016 Event Committee


Julie Mitchell

Nancy Williams


Karie Crowley
Dyann Folkner

Physical Arrangments

Toni Knapp
Julie Phillips Puckett

Carolyn Sherrod


Melody Alexander

Jane Juett

Betsy Kellye

Lorene Lacer

Lizzie Mason

Robyn Rhodes

Kathy Sheldon

Robin Smith

Laura Street

Shauna Thornhill

Purse Auction

Cynthia Cross

Jan Hodges

Pam Lary

Mary Stewart Pfeffer

Maggie Velky
Katie Oppligers

VIP Reception

Kathy Brown

Susan Cox

Susie O'Brien

Kelly Roberts

Celeste Saadeh

Lea Wright


Mrs. Becky McKinley

Becky Aragon


Kelly Caviness
Teresa Hoard

Amy Irwin

Cindy Rufenacht


Farrar Mansfield

Susan Teeple


Mary Croyle
Carley du Menil
Angela Knapp Eggers
Donna Fansler
Julia Greif 
Marley Hoggatt
Jaclyn Inkhamheng
Jesse Melson
Justin Patterson
Kristen Tucker

Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center
Cardiology Center of Amarillo LLP Cancer Prevention Research Institute of Texas San Angelo Community Medical Center TTUHSC Amarillo Breast Center of Excellence Angelo State University